石英的特性

羟基含量

 

Momentive Technologies 的石英产品具有非常低的羟基含量,这要得益于独特的电熔工艺。Beta 因子通常用于表征熔融石英的羟基 (-OH) 含量。术语“羟基含量”是通过根据红外透射计算羟基含量来定义的。


反应性

 

对于一般用途,熔融石英不具反应性,包括在常温下接触大多数酸、金属、氯和溴时。碱性溶液会对熔融石英有轻微侵蚀,其反应速率会随温度和溶液浓度而增加。磷酸在约 150°C 以上温度会侵蚀熔融石英,氢氟酸则能在所有温度下腐蚀熔融石英。碳和有些金属会还原熔融石英;碱性氧化物、碳酸盐、硫酸盐等会在高温下与它反应。

 

下图显示了熔融石英在室温下在氢氟酸中的溶解速率。

在真空中观察高温下各种元素和化合物对熔融石英的影响。如反应表中所示, 每个样品都在最低温度放置了一小时,然后在第二低温度下放置一小时,依此类推。当然,反应程度也与时间有关。


渗透率

 

熔融石英基本上不渗透绝大多数气体,但氦、氢、氘和氖会通过熔融石英扩散。扩散速率会随着温度和压差下而增加。

 

700°C 时熔融石英的估计渗透常数

石英透过扩散性

对于半导体应用,各种离子通过石英的扩散至关重要。附表显示了各种离子扩散通过不同厚度的石英所需要的时间。这些值是根据扩散系数以及 1000°C 的扩散温度计算得出的。


机械特性

 

熔融石英的机械特性与其他玻璃的机械特性大致相同。熔融石英具有极强的抗压性,设计抗压强度优于 1.1 x 109 Pa (160,000 psi)。

 

表面缺陷会极大地降低任何玻璃的固有强度,因此也会极大地影响拉伸性能。具有良好表面质量的熔融石英的设计抗拉强度超过 4.8 x 107 Pa (7,000 psi)。在实践中,通常推荐的设计应力为 0.68 x 107 Pa (1,000 psi)。

Momentive Technologies 熔融石英与合成熔融石英的比较图


电学特性

 

由于熔融石英的导电性本质上是离子传导,而碱离子仅作为微量成分存在,因此熔融石英是电绝缘和低损耗介电特性玻璃材料的理想选择。熔融石英能在极高温下和宽频率范围内保持其电绝缘和微波传输特性。

 

熔融石英的典型电学特性


光学特性

 

由于光透过率体现了材料纯度和制造方法,因此光透过率可以作为区分各种类型石英玻璃的一种手段。

 

具体依据是紫外线截止波长,以及是否存在 245 nm和 2.73 μm波长之间的某些波段。对于 10 mm厚的纯熔融石英样品,约为 155 至 175 nm的紫外线截止波长范围体现了材料纯度。

 

某些过渡金属元素的存在可将截止波长向更长的波长移动。在需要的情况下可以进行特意掺杂,例如, Momentive Technologies 便在其 219™ 熔融石英中掺入钛,可以增加对紫外线的吸收。245 nm波长的吸收带表征了还原性玻璃,是通过电熔法制造的材料的典型特征。如果石英玻璃是通过“湿法”工艺(例如火焰熔炼或合成材料)制造,内部结构的的氢氧根离子的固有振动将在 2.73 μm波长处产生强烈吸收。

 

紫外线截止波长

 

如透射曲线所示,Momentive Technologies 的 214™ 熔融石英的紫外线截止波长(1 mm厚度样本)< 160 nm,245 nm波长有轻微吸收,而且没有明显的由于氢氧根离子造成的吸收。而含有大约 100 ppm 钛的 219 熔融石英的紫外线截止波长则约为 230 nm(1 mm厚度样本)。

 

高红外透射率

 

红外透射率会在波长4.5 -5.0 μm之间急剧下降(1mm厚样品)。Momentive Technologies 的 214/124™ 电熔石英是高效的红外辐射透过材料。其红外透射范围延伸至约 4 μm波长,在 2.73 μm波长的“含水波段”中几乎没有吸收。这使得 Momentive Technologies 的电熔石英不同于火焰熔融石英(通常称为“含水”石英)。这种差异体现在红外透射范围中。

不同厚度的转换

 

可以使用以下公式转换为其他厚度:

 

T = (1−R)2e –at

 

T = 透射率百分比,以小数表示

R = 一个表面的表面反射损耗

e = 自然对数的底数

a = 吸收系数,cm–1

t = 厚度,厘米


热特性

 

熔融石英最重要的特性之一是其极低的热膨胀系数:5.5 x 10–7 /°C (20–320°C)。这个系数是铜的 1/34,是硼硅玻璃的 1/7。这使材料尤为适合光学平面、反射镜、炉窗和要求对热变化不灵敏的关键光学应用。

 

一个相关的特性是其超高的抗热冲击性。例如,您可以将薄块迅速加热到 1500°C 以上,然后浸入水中,而不会破裂。

温度影响

 

熔融石英在室温下是一种固态材料,但在高温下,它的表现会和所有玻璃类似。熔融石英不像晶体材料那样具有明确的熔点,但是在一个相当宽的温度范围内会逐步软化。这种从固态到类塑料状态的转变称为“形变范围”,其特点是粘度系数随温度的变化而持续变化。

 

粘度系数

 

粘度是指材料在受到剪切应力时产生的流动阻力的大小。由于“流动性”的范围极广,因此粘度标度通常以对数表示。表示玻璃粘度的常用术语包括应变点、退火点和软化点,具体定义如下:

 

应变点:使内应力在 4 小时内基本消除的温度。这是以 1014.5 泊粘度为基础计算的,泊(粘度单位)=达因(表面张力)/厘米2 秒。

 

退火点:使内应力在 15 分钟内基本消除的温度,粘度系数为 1013.2 泊。

软化点:玻璃在其自身重量下发生形变的温度,粘度系数约为 107.6 泊。对熔融石英的软化点的测定结果并不统一(在 1500°C 到 1670°C 之间),这是由不同的测量条件造成的。

析晶

 

析晶和颗粒生成是限制熔融石英高温性能的因素。析晶是一个两步过程:成核和生长。一般来说,熔融石英析晶速率缓慢的因素有两个:一是方石英成核仅在自由表面上发生,二是晶体相的生长速率缓慢。

 

熔融石英材料中的成核通常是由碱金属元素和其他金属的造成的表面污染引发的。这种异质成核在非化学计量熔融石英(如 Momentive Technologies 熔融石英)比在化学计量石英材料中慢。

 

方石英生长

 

成核后方石英的生长速率取决于特定的环境因素和材料特性。温度和石英粘度系数是最重要的因素,但氧气和水蒸气分压也会影响晶体生长速度。因此,熔融石英的析晶速度会随着羟基 (-OH) 含量的增加、粘度的降低和温度的升高而加快。这使得 Momentive Technologies 生产的高粘度、低羟基熔融石英材料在抗析晶性方面具有优势。

 

β-方石英的相变通常不会发生在1000°C 以下。如果熔融石英进行热循环而且温度低于晶体反转温度范围(约 270°C),这将损坏熔融石英的结构完整性。这种反转伴随着密度的很大变化,并可能导致层裂和潜在机械损伤。

 

抗变形

 

影响熔融石英抗变性能的最重要化学因素是羟基 (-OH) 含量。Momentive Technologies 控制石英中的羟基 (-OH) 含量,以满足客户的特定需求。为了最大限度地提高高温半导体工艺中所用管材的性能,了解直径和壁厚变化的影响非常重要。一项使用 214 LD 熔融石英管的研究发现,变形速率随着管壁厚度的增加而降低。通常,壁厚增加一倍,变形速率降低约 3 倍。此外,研究还表明在壁厚固定的情况下,变形速率随着管径的减小而减小。


破裂计算

 

管材破裂公式

可以使用以下公式转换为其他厚度:

 

S = pr/t

 

S = 环向应力 (Pa)

p = 工作压力 (Pa)

r = 内壁半径 (mm)

t = 壁厚 (mm)

 

当内部压力超过 7×105 Pa (100 psi) 时,此公式不适用。

 

圆盘和板材破裂公式

 

许多使用熔融石英盘、板材和视镜的应用需要计算压差。以下公式适用于夹持或非夹持边缘的圆形部件在室温条件下的应用。

p = 压差 (Pa)

r0 = 无支撑圆盘半径 (mm)。板材则用宽度代替 r0

SMAX = 最大应力(安全系数约为 7:1)7.0 x 106 Pa

t = 圆盘厚度 (mm)

 

但是,以下因素会影响这些部件的强度,在使用公式时必须考虑:

• 表面应高度抛光且无划痕

• 将样品夹入压力装置中的方式

• 使用的夹具材料

• 表面上以及各表面之间的预期热梯度

• 加压速率

• 样品温度

点击此处使用石英计算器。


使用指南

 

对于如今的熔融石英客户来说,一个重要的考虑因素是产品的支持服务。Momentive Technologies 拥有完善的分析和开发实验室以及材料和熔融专家团队,可为其产品提供支持,满足客户的需求。先进的分析设备确保最佳的生产质量,使 Momentive Technologies 的石英产品通过认证符合严格的行业标准。

 

本网站上显示的物理特性和其他信息撷取自多种来源,包括 Momentive Technologies 技术实验室、教科书和技术出版物。

 

尽管 Momentive Technologies 相信这些信息是准确的,但其并非是对所讨论主题的详尽评述,因此,Momentive Technologies 对信息的准确性或完整性不作任何保证。我们建议客户查阅参考文献,以确保产品适合其特定使用要求。

 

熔融石英的清洗

 

• 产品应在去离子水或蒸馏水中加入脱脂剂清洗。

• 随后将熔融石英浸在 7%(最大)浓度的二氟化铵溶液中,不超过 10 分钟;或 10% 容积百分比(最大)的氢氟酸溶液中,不超过 5 分钟。

• 表面蚀刻会去除任何表面污染物以及少量熔融石英材料。

• 为避免水斑(可能会吸引污垢并在后续加热时导致析晶),熔融石英应在去离子水或蒸馏水中冲洗数次,并迅速干燥。

• 始终使用干净的棉质工作手套对减少可能的污染非常重要。

 

熔融石英的退火

 

熔融石英与其他玻璃质材料一样,在热处理后可能会产生应力。为了避免这种应力,玻璃必须正确冷却。退火的要点是:

 

• 将玻璃加热到应力消除的温度。

• 保持此温度,直到整个玻璃体达到温度平衡。

• 将玻璃缓慢冷却至玻璃硬化的温度。

 

熔融石英的参考退火速率

残余应力或设计根据应用的不同,可能在 1.7 x 105 到 20.4 x 105 Pa(25 到 300 psi)的范围内。通常,对于厚度小于 25 mm的部分,可以以100°C/小时 的速度冷却。

 

熔融石英的使用

 

与任何预期在高温下可维持设计使用寿命的材料一样,熔融石英在处理和使用时需要小心谨慎,以保证产品的最大性能。

 

贮存

 

• 将玻璃加热到应力消除的温度。

• 保持此温度,直到整个玻璃体达到温度平衡。

• 将玻璃缓慢冷却至玻璃硬化的温度。

 

表面清洁度

 

• 几乎任何形式的污染都是有害的

• 碱性溶液、盐或蒸气的损害尤其大

• 若徒手处理材料,汗液中沉积的碱会在析晶时留下清晰的指纹

• 留在表面的水滴会从空气中收集足够的污染物,从而导致析晶点和水印。

• 表面污染会促使方石英成核

 

熔融石英炉管的旋转程序

 

以下程序是为了在扩散管上形成一层均匀的方石英层,以增加抗析晶性。

• 将炉管放入 1200°C 的熔炉中,在前 30 小时内每两小时旋转 90°。

• 如果工作时间表无法以此程序操作,则将炉管放入 1200°C 的熔炉中,在前 8 小时内每两小时旋转 90°,然后将熔炉重置到工作温度。

• 此程序有助于最大限度地减少高温下的下垂,延长扩散管的使用寿命,但前提是熔炉内设计具有足够的机械支撑。

 

过度曝光

 

• 由天然石英砂制成的熔融石英在高能辐射(如短波紫外线、X 射线、伽马射线和中子)的长时间照射下会发生过度曝光或变色

• 抵御此类过度曝光的能力随着熔融石英的纯度提高而增加

• 合成熔融石英具有出色的抗过度曝光能力

• 过度曝光的熔融石英可以通过将其加热到高温来热漂白

 

解离

 

• 将熔融石英加热到高温(约 2000°C)会导致 SiO2 发生解离或升华。

• 这个过程通常是:SiO2 → SiO + ½O2

• 对熔融石英进行火焰加工时,会在强加热区域外形成一个薄雾或烟雾带。薄雾的形成可能是因为 SiO 与空气中的氧气(可能还有水)重新结合并凝结为极小的非晶态SiO2 颗粒。

• 通过在氢氧焰中温和加热,可以去除表面的薄雾。

• 在还原条件下加热熔融石英时,解离会大大增强。

例如,在加热过程中靠近或接触石墨会导致 SiO2 快速解离。

Properties of Quartz

Hydroxyl Content

 

Momentive Technologies’ quartz products have a very low hydroxyl level, which results from the unique electric fusion process. The term Beta Factor is often used to characterize the hydroxyl (–OH) content of fused quartz. This term is defined by the calculation of hydroxyl content from IR transmission.


Reactivity

 

For general use, fused quartz is unreactive, including when exposed to most acids, metals, chlorine and bromine at ordinary temperatures. It is slightly attacked by alkaline solutions, the reaction rate increasing with temperature and concentration of solution. Phosphoric acid will attack fused quartz at temperatures about 150°C. Hydrofluoric acid alone will attack at all temperatures. Carbon and some metals will reduce fused quartz; basic oxides, carbonates, sulfates, etc., will react with it at elevated temperatures.

 

Chart shows the rate of dissolution of fused quartz in hydrofluoric acid at room temperature.

The effects of various elements and compounds on fused quartz at elevated temperatures are observed in a vacuum. Each sample, as shown in the reactivity table, is held at the lowest temperature for one hour, then at the next higher temperature for an hour, and so on. The extent of the reaction is, of course, also time-dependent.


Permeability

 

Fused quartz is essentially impermeable to most gases, but helium, hydrogen, deuterium and neon may diffuse through the glass. The rate of diffusion increases at higher temperatures and differential pressures.

 

Estimated Permeability Constants Through Fused Silica at 700°C

Diffusion Through Quartz

For semiconductor applications, the diffusion of various ions through the quartz is of critical importance. The attached table shows the time for various ions to diffuse through different thicknesses of quartz. These calculated values are based on the diffusion coefficient and a temperature of 1000°C.


Mechanical Properties

 

Mechanical properties of fused quartz are much the same as those of other glasses. The material is extremely strong in compression, with design compressive strength of better than 1.1 x 109 Pa (160,000 psi).

 

Surface flaws can drastically reduce the inherent strength of any glass, so tensile properties are greatly influenced by these defects. The design tensile strength for fused quartz with good surface quality is in excess of 4.8 x 107 Pa (7,000 psi). In practice, a design stress of 0.68 x 107 Pa (1,000 psi) is generally recommended.

Comparison charts of Momentive Technologies’ fused quartz versus synthetic fused silica


Electrical Properties

 

Since electrical conductivity in fused quartz is ionic in nature, and alkali ions exist only as trace constituents, fused quartz is the preferred glass for electrical insulation and low loss dielectric properties. Both electrical insulation and microwave transmission properties are retained at very high temperatures and over a wide range of frequencies.

 

Typical Electrical Properties of Fused Quartz


Optical Properties

 

Optical transmission properties provide a means for distinguishing among various types of vitreous silica as the degree of transparency reflects material purity and the method of manufacture.

 

Specific indicators are the UV cutoff and the presence or absence of bands at 245 nm and 2.73 μm. The UV cutoff ranges from about 155 to 175 nm for a 10 mm thick specimen and for pure fused quartz is a reflection of material purity.

 

The presence of transition metallic impurities will shift the cutoff toward longer wavelengths. When desired, intentional doping, e.g., with Ti in the case of Momentive Technologies’ 219™ fused quartz, may be employed to increase absorption in the UV. The absorption band at 245 nm characterizes a reduced glass and typifies material made by electric fusion. If a vitreous silica is formed by a “wet” process, either flame fusion or synthetic material, for example, the fundamental vibrational band of incorporated structural hydroxyl ions will absorb strongly at 2.73 μm.

 

UV Cutoff

 

As the transmission curve illustrates, Momentive Technologies’ 214™ fused quartz has a UV cutoff (1 mm thickness) at < 160 nm, a small absorption at 245 nm and no appreciable absorption due to hydroxyl ions. 219, which contains approximately 100 ppm Ti, has a UV cutoff at about 230 nm for a 1 mm thick sample.

 

High IR Transmission

 

The IR edge falls between 4.5 and 5.0 μm for a 1 mm thick sample. Momentive Technologies’ 214/124™ electrically fused quartz is a very efficient material for the transmission of infrared radiation. Its infrared transmission extends out to about 4 μm with little absorption in the “water band” at 2.73 μm . This makes Momentive Technologies’ electrically fused quartz different than flame fused quartz (often referred to as “wet” quartz). This difference is seen in the transmission for the IR range.

Conversion to Other Thicknesses

 

Conversion to other thicknesses can be accomplished with the following formula:

 

T = (1−R)2e –at

 

T = percent transmission expressed as a decimal.

R = surface reflection loss for one surface.

e = base of natural logarithms

a = absorption coefficient, cm–1

t = thickness, cm


Thermal Properties

 

One of the most important properties of fused quartz is its extremely low coefficient of thermal expansion: 5.5 x 10–7 /°C (20–320°C). Its coefficient is 1/34 that of copper and only 1/7 of borosilicate glass. This makes the material particularly useful for optical flats, mirrors, furnace windows and critical optical applications which require minimum sensitivity to thermal changes.

 

A related property is its unusually high thermal shock resistance. For example, thin sections can be heated rapidly to above 1500°C and then plunged into water without cracking.

Effects of Temperature

 

Fused quartz is a solid material at room temperature, but at high temperatures, it behaves like all glasses. It does not experience a distinct melting point as crystalline materials do, but softens over a fairly broad temperature range. This transition from a solid to a plastic-like behavior, called the transformation range, is distinguished by a continuous change in viscosity with temperature.

 

Viscosity

 

Viscosity is the measure of the resistance to flow of a material when exposed to a shear stress. Since the range in “flowability” is extremely wide, the viscosity scale is generally expressed logarithmically. Common glass terms for expressing viscosity include strain point, annealing point and softening point, which are defined as:

 

Strain Point: The temperature at which the internal stress is substantially relieved in four hours. This corresponds to a viscosity of 1014.5 poise, where poise = dynes/cm2 sec.

 

Annealing Point: The temperature at which the internal stress is substantially relieved in 15 minutes, a viscosity of 1013.2 poise.

Softening Point: The temperature at which glass will deform under its own weight, a viscosity of approximately 107.6 poise. The softening point of fused quartz has been variously reported from 1500°C to 1670°C, the range resulting from differing conditions of measurement.

Devitrification

 

Devitrification and particle generation are limiting factors in the high temperature performance of fused quartz. Devitrification is a two-step process of nucleation and growth. In general, the devitrification rate of fused quartz is slow for two reasons: the nucleation of the cristobalite phase is possible only at the free surface, and the growth rate of the crystalline phase is low.

 

Nucleation in fused quartz materials is generally initiated by surface contamination from alkali elements and other metals. This heterogeneous nucleation is slower in non-stoichiometric fused quartz, such as Momentive Technologies, than in stoichiometric quartz materials.

 

Cristobalite Growth

 

The growth rate of cristobalite from the nucleation site depends on certain environmental factors and material characteristics. Temperature and quartz viscosity are the most significant factors, but oxygen and water vapor partial pressures also impact the crystal growth rate. Consequently, the rate of devitrification of fused quartz increases with increasing hydroxyl (–OH) content, decreasing viscosity and increasing temperature. High viscosity, low hydroxyl fused quartz materials produced by Momentive Technologies, therefore, provide an advantage in devitrification resistance.

 

The phase transformation to Beta-cristobalite generally does not occur below 1000°C. This transformation can be detrimental to the structural integrity of fused quartz if it is thermally cycled through the crystallographic inversion temperature range (around 270°C). This inversion is accompanied by a large change in density and can result in spalling and possible mechanical failure.

 

Resistance To Sag

 

The most significant chemical factor effecting the sag resistance of fused quartz is the hydroxyl (–OH) content. Momentive Technologies controls the (–OH) content in its quartz to meet the specific needs of its customers. To maximize the performance of tubes used in high temperature semiconductor processes, it is important to understand the impact of changes in diameter and wall thickness. In one study using 214 LD fused quartz tubing, it was found that the sag rate decreases as the wall thickness of the tube is increased. Generally, as the wall thickness doubles, the sag rate decreases by approximately a factor 3. Also, it was shown that with a fixed wall thickness, the sag rate decreases as the tube diameter decreases.


Rupture Calculation

 

Rupture Formula For Tubing

Conversion to other thicknesses can be accomplished with the following formula:

 

S = pr/t

 

S = Hoop Stress (Pa)

p = Working pressure (Pa)

r = Inside Radius of Tube (mm)

t = Wall Thickness (mm)

 

This formula is not applicable when the internal pressure exceeds 7×105 Pa (100 psi).

 

Rupture Formula For Discs And Plates

 

Many applications of fused quartz discs, plates and sight glasses require calculating pressure differential. The following formulae can be used for room temperature applications of circular parts with either clamped or unclamped edges.

p = Pressure differential (Pa)

r0 = Unsupported disc radius (mm).For plates substitute r0 with width

SMAX = Maximum stress (approx. 7 to 1 safety factor) 7.0 x 106 Pa

t = Disc Thickness (mm)

 

However, the following factors will affect the strength of these parts and must be considered when using the formula:

• Surface should be highly polished and free of scratches

• Means by which a sample is clamped into a pressure device

• The clamping material used

• The thermal gradients expected across the surface and between the surfaces

• The rate of pressure increase that will be applied

• Temperature of specimen

Click here to access the quartz calculators.


Usage Guidelines

 

An important consideration for today’s users of fused quartz is the availability of technical product support. Momentive Technologies backs its products with fully equipped analytical and development laboratories and a staff of materials and fusion experts available to support customer requirements. State-of-the-art analytical equipment assures optimal production quality and enables certification and compliance of Momentive Technologies’ quartz products to stringent industry standards.

 

Physical properties and other information shown on this site were developed from a number of sources, including Momentive Technologies’ technical laboratories, textbooks and technical publications.

 

While Momentive Technologies believes that this information is accurate, it is not an exhaustive review of the subjects covered and, accordingly, Momentive Technologies makes no warranty as to the accuracy or completeness of the information. Customers are advised to check references to ensure that the product is suitable for the customer’s particular use of requirements.

 

Cleaning of Fused Quartz

 

• The products should be washed in deionized or distilled water with a degreasing agent added to the water.

• Fused quartz should then be placed in a 7% (maximum) solution of ammonium bi-fluoride for no more than ten minutes, or a 10 vol % (maximum) solution of hydrofluoric acid for no more than five minutes.

• Etching of the surface will remove a small amount of fused quartz material as well as any surface contaminants.

• To avoid water spotting, which may attract dirt and cause devitrification upon subsequent heating, fused quartz should be rinsed several times in deionized or distilled water and dried rapidly.

• Use of clean, cotton gloves at all times is essential to reduce possibility of contamination.

 

Annealing of Fused Quartz

 

Fused quartz, like other vitreous (glassy) materials, may have stress after thermal treatment. To avoid this stress, the glass must be cooled properly. The principles of annealing are:

 

• Elevate the temperature of the glass to point where the stress is relieved.

• Hold at this temperature until the entire body of the glass reaches temperature equilibrium.

• Cool the glass slowly to a temperature where the glass is rigid.

 

Empirical Annealing Rates of Fused Quartz

The residual stress or design, depending on the application, may be in the range of 1.7 x 105 to 20.4 x 105 Pa (25 to 300 psi). As a general rule, it is possible to cool up to 100°C/hour for sections less than 25mm thick.

 

Handling of Fused Quartz

 

Like any material that is expected to provide a design life at high temperatures, fused quartz demands some care in handling and use to achieve maximum performance from the product.

 

Storage

 

• Elevate the temperature of the glass to point where the stress is relieved.

• Hold at this temperature until the entire body of the glass reaches temperature equilibrium.

• Cool the glass slowly to a temperature where the glass is rigid.

 

Surface Cleanliness

 

• Contamination in almost any form is detrimental

• Alkaline solutions, salts or vapors are particularly deleterious

• Handling with bare hands deposits sufficient alkali from perspiration to leave clearly defined fingerprints upon devitrification

• Drops of water allowed to stand on the surface will collect enough contamination from the air to promote devitrified spots and watermarks.

• Surface contamination promotes nucleation of the cristobalite

 

Rotation Procedures For Fused Quartz Furnace Tubes

 

The following procedure has been used to create an even layer of crystobalite on diffusion tubes in order to increase resistance to devitrification.

• Place tube in furnace at 1200°C, and rotate it 90° every two hours for the first 30 hours.

• If the working schedule does not permit adherence to this procedure, place the tube in a furnace at 1200°C and rotate it 90° every two hours for the first 8 hours, then reset the furnace to operating temperature.

• This procedure helps minimize sag at high temperature to increase the lifetime of the diffusion tube, assuming sufficient mechanical support is designed into the furnace.

 

Solarization

 

• Fused quartz made from natural raw material solarizes or discolors upon prolonged irradiation by high energy radiation (such as short UV, X-rays, gamma rays and neutrons)

• Resistance to this type of solarization increases with the purity of fused quartz

• Synthetic fused silica is highly resistant to solarization • Solarization in fused quartz can be thermally bleached by heating it to high temperatures

 

Dissociation

 

• Heating fused quartz to elevated temperatures (ca. 2000°C) causes the SiO2 to undergo dissociation or sublimation.

• This is generally considered to be: SiO2 → SiO + ½O2.

• When flame-working fused quartz, there is a band of haze or smoke which forms just outside the intensely heated region. The haze presumably forms because the SiO recombines with oxygen from the air (and perhaps water) and condenses as extremely small particles of amorphous SiO2.

• Haze can be removed from the surface by heating gently in the oxy-hydrogen flame.

• The dissociation is greatly enhanced when the heating of fused quartz is carried out in reducing conditions.

For example, the proximity or contact with graphite during heating will cause rapid dissociation of the SiO2.